Pathway out of Native Forest Logging

Tue, Nov 14, 2023 1pm AEDT Hobart Town Hall

RSVP Below

Tasmania – Let’s talk about a pathway out of native forest logging

The end of native forest logging is occurring throughout the world. Here in Australia, Western Australia and Victoria have committed to putting an end to their native forest industries and Tasmania should be on the same path.

But Tasmania continues to delay the inevitable end to an industry that is a relatively small employer, subsidised by the taxpayer, and one that causes climate change and habitat loss.

With jobs in decline - 2021 Census figures show that jobs in forestry and logging (both plantation and native forestry) and jobs across wood product and paper manufacturing industries, together represent just under 1% of all Tasmanian jobs – now is the time.

So what happens to the remaining unprotected native forests in Tasmania? Transitioning them into national parks would take them off logging schedules permanently, provide added protection from commercial development and help bolster biodiversity.

Join former NSW Environment Minister the Hon Bob Debus AM, in conversation with the Australia Institute spokesperson for Native Forests and the Director and Principal Lawyer at Bleyer Lawyers Vanessa Bleyer, at this special event to talk about a pathway out of native forest logging in Tasmania.


  • The Hon Bob Debus AM served as Minister in both the New South Wales and Federal Parliaments. As NSW Environment Minister from 1999 to 2007, he succeeded in expanding the NSW national park estate by nearly 1.8 million hectares and more than tripled NSW’s declared wilderness to approximately 2 million hectares. On retiring, Bob was appointed Chair of the National Wildlife Corridors Plan Advisory Group that guided the development of the National Wildlife Corridors Plan, adopted by the Australian Government in 2012. He is currently chair of Wilderness Australia (formerly the Colong Foundation) as well as of the Great Eastern Ranges Initiative.
  • Vanessa Bleyer is the Australia Institute spokesperson for Native Forests and the Director and Principal Lawyer at Bleyer Lawyers. She has a long history operating at the interface between our forests and the law. She was President of Lawyers for Forests Inc from 2003-2007 and returned as a committee member in 2021. She has twice been awarded the Law Institute of Victoria’s President’s Award for providing Access to Justice for our native forests and the species that depend on them. She was Chairperson of Environment Tasmania Inc from 2012 to 2015 and in 2022 she became a board member of Landcare Tasmania.

This is a free event so registrations are essential.


Tuesday, November 14, 2023 at 1:00pm - 2pm AEDT


Hobart Town Hall
50 Macquarie St
Hobart, TAS 7000
Google map and directions

Sorry, this event is fully booked.

300 RSVPs

Chrissie Haas rsvped +3 2023-11-10 16:01:18 +1100
Duncan Mills rsvped +1 2023-11-10 13:21:55 +1100
Dan Feehely canceled rsvp 2023-11-10 10:08:56 +1100
Dan Feehely rsvped 2023-11-10 10:06:05 +1100
Nicola Coles rsvped 2023-11-10 08:05:18 +1100
Jasmine prichard rsvped +1 2023-11-10 07:23:24 +1100
eddy steenbergen rsvped 2023-11-09 23:08:09 +1100
Anthea Parmentier rsvped 2023-11-09 22:53:20 +1100
Catherine Udovicic
Catherine Udovicic rsvped 2023-11-09 21:50:58 +1100
Tammy Price followed 2023-11-09 19:59:48 +1100
Loggers Lives rsvped +50 2023-11-09 19:56:38 +1100
Tammy Price rsvped +12 2023-11-09 19:56:26 +1100
Meeghan Price rsvped +6 2023-11-09 19:54:09 +1100
Murray Root rsvped 2023-11-09 16:38:42 +1100
Michael O'Halloran canceled rsvp 2023-11-09 12:53:31 +1100
peter cleary rsvped 2023-11-09 12:18:47 +1100
Bronwyn Summers rsvped +1 2023-11-09 11:48:31 +1100
Dougal McLauchlan rsvped +1 2023-11-09 10:50:59 +1100
Clark Carter rsvped 2023-11-09 10:09:10 +1100
Tim Morris rsvped 2023-11-09 09:34:03 +1100
Tomas Wiese Smith rsvped +1 2023-11-09 09:12:47 +1100
Michael Roberts rsvped +1 2023-11-08 22:37:50 +1100
Benjamin Mulheran rsvped +1 2023-11-08 20:40:05 +1100
Inga Jacobsson rsvped 2023-11-08 20:03:54 +1100
Gill Gravell rsvped 2023-11-08 15:44:08 +1100
Jacqueline Dortmans rsvped 2023-11-08 11:55:55 +1100
Paula Gudgeon rsvped +1 2023-11-08 08:14:25 +1100
Yimin Liew rsvped 2023-11-07 23:06:49 +1100
Jillian Lindner rsvped +2 2023-11-07 22:33:06 +1100
Andrew Baird rsvped 2023-11-07 21:39:02 +1100