Establish a Federal Anti-Corruption Watchdog Now

In 2022, the Federal Parliament passed legislation to establish the National Anti-Corruption Commission, a watchdog that will investigate potential corruption at the highest level. It passed with cross-partisan support. The Commission will be operational by mid 2023.

It is clear the National Anti-Corruption Commission will fill a huge gap in Australia's integrity system.

Altogether, 19,000 people signed Australia Institute petitions calling for an effective anti-corruption watchdog at the federal level. Now, thanks in no small part to your support, the National Anti-Corruption Commission is law.

Read more about the Commission.

Australia’s trust in federal politics is at an all-time low. Australians have never trusted our politicians less.

It is time to create an independent anti-corruption watchdog to investigate and expose corruption and serious misconduct at a Federal level. The public is sick and tired of the lack of accountability revealed by repeat scandals involving federal politicians and public servants.

This is a national issue that cannot be ignored any longer.

In fact, Australia Institute research shows 88% of Australians support a federal anti-corruption watchdog, and 78% support establishing a federal anti-corruption watchdog with public hearings.

To restore faith in our democracy and help politics help itself Australia needs a Federal Anti-Corruption Watchdog with teeth.

Enough is enough: we need a Federal Anti-Corruption Watchdog now. Add your name to the call >

To the Prime Minister

We urge you to help restore integrity, accountability and trust in the Federal Parliament and Australian Public Service.

We need a Federal Anti-Corruption Watchdog with teeth.

7,024 signed

Latest supporters

Lachlan Sinclair signed 2019-07-24 11:02:48 +1000
Thomas Coleman signed 2019-07-24 11:01:38 +1000
Ian Crick signed 2019-07-24 11:00:53 +1000
Benjamin Fitzpatrick signed 2019-07-24 10:56:38 +1000
Samuel Scott-Palmer signed 2019-07-24 10:55:45 +1000
Ted Van der Male signed 2019-07-24 10:54:16 +1000
Lyn Chambers signed 2019-07-24 10:51:44 +1000
Luke Diamond signed 2019-07-24 10:50:45 +1000
Kathleen Cantarella signed 2019-07-24 10:49:57 +1000
Tom Willians signed 2019-07-24 10:49:05 +1000
bill doyle signed 2019-07-24 10:48:19 +1000
Andy Miles signed 2019-07-24 10:42:56 +1000
Victor D'iapico-Bien
Victor D'iapico-Bien signed 2019-07-24 10:41:58 +1000
Jonathan Simpson signed 2019-07-24 10:41:54 +1000
Max Pollard signed 2019-07-24 10:40:25 +1000
Diane Noel signed 2019-07-24 10:37:25 +1000